flash not synced with camera shutter

I just recently purchased a pair of V6s. I shoot with a Pentax K5 and am using a single Pentax AF-540FGZ flash. I can get my flash to fire just fine, but it seems that it is just a slight bit out of sync with the camera. My images consistently come out with the upper portion slightly shadowed, no matter how I aim the flash. I have tried various shutter speeds ranging from 1/30 second to 1/125 second with no change to this shadow. I have made sure the delay is turned off on both V6s. The units are communicating (I can control power on the rx from the tx, and the flash fires when I push the test button on either the camera unit or the flash unit.) Also, without changing any settings on the flash, if I remove the V6s and connect the flash to the camera with a standard sync cord, the flash produces the proper image with no shadowing. I am new to radio triggers in general, but have pored over the Cactus user manual, and have watched (& followed) and online video showing how to set up the V6s. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Comments

• It is strange that you are seeing a shadow at the top of the image.

A delay caused by the triggers would manifest itself by a shadow (black bar) at the bottom of the image.

Are you seeing a slightly darker area, or a black bar?

Unless in your experiments you are somehow moving the flash in a way that could cause a shadow or uneven illumination, the only explanation for a black bar at the top of the image is that the flash is firing too early (before the first curtain has completely opened). That would be rather unexpected.

Nevertheless, you could try to set a delay of 1ms or 2ms with the V6 to see whether this affects the shadow you are seeing. If the flash is indeed firing too early then a delay should address that.