My Cactus V6 gives me host of problems

edited August 2015 in V6 Problems
Hi,

I am new to Cactus world and I have trouble with my newly bought Cactus V6 (bad start) :(. I am just not able to get it to work with my Canon 600ex. I set the profile on Group A to my speedlite but it just does not link. I am not sure if I am missing any set up step. 

I have another problem too with firmware update. I am on 1.1.008 and I am trying to update using mini USB cable (4 of them) none of them seem to work. The drivers aren't getting installed to go further with the update.

Please help!

Thanks

Ray

P.S. I am on Win 7 OS

Comments

• Hi Ray,

Sorry to hear about the bad start. No worries we can troubleshoot them here:
    1. Are both the V6 units set to the same channel?
    2. Is Group A on the V6 TX unit (transmitter) switched on?
    3. Is your Canon 600EX set to TTL mode?
    About firmware update, are you running any anti virus program on your computer? Try deactiavte protection for the installation process and see if the driver can be installed.

Hope this helps!
    Antonio Lao
    Brand Manager
  • Hi Antonio,

Thanks for responding. 

1. Do I need 2 V6 units? I thought 600ex has wireless receiver akin to RF60? 
    2. My answer depends on above question :)
    3. 600EX is set to TTL mode

I do have AVG anti-virus running on my PC. I will try and see if it works. 

Thanks for the help.
  • Cactus V6, despite also running on 2.4Ghz, is not compatible with any other wireless flash system including the one in the Canon 600EX. Therefore you need at least two (2) Cactus V6 transceivers, one TX (transmitter), the other RX (reciever). Alternatively, one V6 + one RF60 Wireless Flash.

Try downloading the Updater again, we re-bundled it with a driver for Windows.
    http://www.cactus-image.com/cactus_updater.zip

Thanks!
    Antonio Lao
    Brand Manager
  • Hi Antonio,