Fuji X-T2 + Canon 580EX issue

edited December 2016 in V6 II Problems
Hi all,

Newbie to this group.  I've been using PocketWizard FlexTT5(s) on Canon 5dII for at least 2 years and PWs have always been reliable, rarely miss any shot.  Since moving to Fuji-X system, I've been looking for an alternative to ETTL+HSS and finally after reading many positive users comments, decide to get Cactus V6II.  It took me a while to read through manual/blog and after several "Learn HSS" tries, it finally works.  

However, the problem I have is with the trigger's consistency.  Even with both flash & camera are next to each other  (not about the radio range), there are so many trigger misses.  Sometimes, 4-5 in a row and hit twice then miss again.  The overall "hit" rate is very low ~30-40%, very frustrated.  I only shoot in "single" shot mode, ensure flash power is already ready before the shot.  Battery is fresh in both flash + triggers.

Here is my setup:

- Fuji X-T2 w/ hot shoe metal spring removed.  (For my XT2, hot shoe does not seem a problem)
- Canon 580EX on ETTL + HSS
- Flash power: 1/32s -> 1/64s
- Exposure: 1/1000s, f/4

For Cactus:
- FW 1.006
- Camera system: Fujifilm
- Flash profile: Canon 580EX
- Force HSS ON
- Normal HSS

According to Lilo, he reported a higher rate, 75%.  That's at least reasonable but not what I get.  If I could not figure out soon, I would have to give it up.

Any help would be appreciated.
-Phil

P/S: camera+flash setup attached.

Comments

• Try setting the work range (under "RADIO SETUP") of the V6II transmitter to "SHORT".

If the transmitter is within close proximity of receivers, the latter can experience radio signal overload. Changing the range setting to "SHORT" fixes that and will still leave you with a very comfortable work range. Unless you go outdoors and try to attempt some long distance triggering, "SHORT" should do just fine.

I always set my transmitter to "SHORT" and have never needed to change it back to "LONG".